What you should know about nuts.

2

April 12, 2012 by theoghartiens

Did I get your attention with that title? Haha, I thought so.

Well, I was making some raw almond kefir this morning (recipe here), and then started doing a little internet research about what to do with the almond pulp. (That research led me to this website, which gives SO much great information about soaking nuts and seeds.)

Once I started doing a little more reading, I found out some shocking information. Did you know that foods labeled “raw” are not always actually, truly raw? I am finding more and more information about how our FDA lies to us and forces their drugs down our throat. I don’t want to go on a rant here, but check out this information from http://www.cornucopia.org/almonds/:

The USDA mandate requires raw almonds to be sanitized using treatment processes that the industry generously describes as “pasteurization.” The rule requires sanitation of almonds with a toxic fumigant or treatment with high-temperature heat.  The scheme imposes significant financial burdens on small-scale and organic growers, lacks scientific justification, damages domestic almond markets, and does not address the unsustainable methods used on the industrial-scale almond orchards where the only two documented Salmonella outbreaks have occurred.  And the treated almonds can still be deceptively labeled as “raw!”

Boy, this made me angry!! It’s bad enough that GMO foods do not have to be labeled, but this…outright LIES! HOW does the government get away with this? Oh yeah, because the general public has other things to worry about. Like working. And taking care of their family. And paying the mortgage or rent every month. Oy!! I really don’t understand how we (the people) have been so misled and abused by those who have sworn to work for our freedom. I mean, I understand. But ugh!

Man, my eyes are opening a little more everyday. We really have to stand up and fight for our rights. I started by signing this petition!

How does this kind of information make you feel? Will you change your buying practices in the future? I have done some research and will be buying online from now on. It’s a damn shame, because I want to support my local grocers and markets. But they can’t even be honest with me and put a disclaimer on the products that they choose to sell. Oh, for shame!

Gosh. I’m getting more informed EVERY SECOND, folks! Getting that toxic stuff out of my life is going to be a little more challenging than I expected, but I can do this. That’s the power of a CLEANSE!

Erin

2 thoughts on “What you should know about nuts.

  1. Christine says:

    I’m so happy you’ve seen the light! One more food
    warrior on the good side.

    • It’s been an eye-opening experience, to say the least! I’m learning more everyday, and finding ways to get what I need from local markets and farmers as much as possible!

Leave a Reply

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

