Cool off with fresh juice and smoothies!

Leave a comment

June 27, 2012 by theoghartiens

It’s really heating up in Austin! I find myself wanting iced drinks throughout the day – but want to avoid the temptation of coffee drinks or “drive through” food. Most juices and smoothies made from chain restaurants are filled with sugar and unwanted ingredients. Here are a few of my favorite recipes that are sure to quench your thirst and boost your energy – without the use of artificial anything. 🙂

Summer smoothie with Yerba Mate
2 cups of fresh watermelon, chilled and diced

1 large organic cucumber, chilled and diced

1 handful of mint leaves (I used spearmint from our garden)

1 bag of frozen organic strawberries

1 cup brewed and chilled Yerba mate (I use Eco Teas unsmoked brand – you could sub with a non-caffeinated tea if you prefer. My favorite is, Longevity tea!)

To add some protein and omega-3 fats, try adding two tablespoons of soaked chia seeds! I keep mine in a glass jar in the refrigerator – add two or three tablespoons of dry chia seeds and a few cups of water for a nice, gelatinous consistency. The chia seeds will absorb the moisture from the water, and not from your body – they blend up perfectly smooth and are flavorless. This mixture will keep in the ‘fridge for at least a week.

Put tea, mint, watermelon, cucumber and chia seeds (if using) into your blender. Blend on high until smooth. Add frozen strawberries and blend until well combined. Enjoy!

I’ll share a great secret I learned this summer about watermelon – buy organic! It’s totally worth the extra dollar or two because you can JUICE the rind!! I know, it sounds weird, but it’s actually really good and GREAT for your skin! I started juicing watermelon and the rind earlier this summer and found that I heal much more quickly – especially if I get too much sun. I’ve had several cases of sunburn in the past month, and each time I would make a point to drink several glasses of watermelon juice. I have not had any pain (or peeling, gross!) and my skin was healed within a day or two. Here’s a quick recipe for a simple and very light juice:

Cleansing melon juice

2 cups of watermelon plus rind

1 handful mint

Stevia, or sweetener of choice

Run the watermelon and mint through your juicer. Add stevia, honey or agave to sweeten, if desired. I find that I like it without adding anything to it. 🙂 Enjoy!

The last smoothie I created was a real treat. Just the night before I watched a video by my favorite raw foodist, Dara Dubinet. She made a peach smoothie, which looked so good. I decided to try one of my own. What came out of the blender when I finished was AH-mazing! I didn’t write down everything exactly, so you may have to play with the flavoring a little, but here is a rough draft of my creation.

Peach Cobbler Smoothie

For this recipe, I used a Thai coconut, which I buy at Whole Foods for $2-3 each. I use a large kitchen knife to get into the coconut and use the water and fruit from inside to make this smoothie nice and creamy.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut fruit

1-2  cups coconut water (more or less depending on how thick you want the smoothie)

2 tablespoons soaked chia seeds

1 tablespoon coconut butter (I bought this at Natural Grocer)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon raw honey

1/2 dropper stevia

1 package frozen peaches

1 fresh peach, sliced

1/4 inch of whole vanilla bean (or about 1 teaspoon ground vanilla – if you have neither, try vanilla extract)

To start, I blended about 1/2 cup of coconut fruit with the water from the coconut and 2 tablespoons of soaked chia seeds. If you don’t have a fresh Thai coconut, you could use coconut manna or coconut butter and store bought coconut water. I added the fresh peach, powders, coconut butter, vanilla and sweeteners. Finally, I added the frozen peaches. You can thin this out or use less water and have a sorbet texture. It was SOOOOOO good, I didn’t even share. 🙂

These smoothies and juices are great for breakfast or for a quick snack throughout the day. When I’m feeling tired and need a pick-me-up, I find that spending a little time in the kitchen making a smoothie or juice gives me such a great feeling of satisfaction – not to mention the fact that I am creating something healthy and delicious! I hope that you’ll feel inspired to break out your blender or juicer and try one of these. I’ll also be posting another blog soon with recipes for my homemade raw CHOCOLATE smoothies and desserts. Stay tuned – and stay COOL!

Erin

Leave a Reply

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

